Stephen T. Hershberg Lifetime Achievement Award

The Stephen T. Hershberg Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a member of the Rock Island Arsenal Historical Society for distinguished service and unselfish dedication of time and effort to the advancement and perpetuation of the goals and activities of the organization.

The award is administered and awarded by the Board of Directors.


Stephen T. Hershberg (1942-1995)

Stephen T. Hershberg served as President of the Rock Island Arsenal Historical Society from 1988 until 1995.  Steve was a contracts negotiator with the Ammunition Procurement Directorate of the Industrial Operations Command at Rock Island Arsenal.

He was a graduate of Cornell University School of Engineering in New York City. A child prodigy, he graduated from Mannes College of Music in New York City with a master’s degree in piano and with the hopes of becoming a concert pianist.

He was drafted into the Army, and served as a Captain from 1967 to 1979. He had two tours of duty in Vietnam. He received the Vietnam Cross of Gallantry with Palm and the Bronze Star. He later served with the Army Reserves, and attained the rank of Lieutenant Colonel.

Steve was responsible for creating the permanent historical museum at the Watervliet Arsenal, Watervliet, New York, when he was stationed at that installation.


Past Award Winners

Recipient Date Presented
Richard L. Maynard June 6, 1996
James K. Larson September 5, 1996
Jerry W. Bates June 4, 1998
Richard C. Hochstetler November 4, 1999
Gerald W. Geiger September 6, 2001
Mae C. Schatteman September 6, 2001
Kris Leinicke January 9, 2003
Arlis Enburg June 5, 2003
Eva E. Hammond April 3, 2008
W. David Maehr February 5, 2009
James L. Jochum October 2, 2014