Rock Island Arsenal Museum


Show/Hide Navigation

Scholarships and Awards

Richard C. Maguire Scholarship

The Richard C. Maguire Scholarship is awarded annually to an individual studying for a Masters or Doctoral degree in History or a related field. For more information and the application, click the links below of contact the Rock Island Arsenal Historical Society.

2021 Scholarship Application Instructions
2021 Scholarship Application
Endorsement 1
Endorsement 2

Richard C. Maguire (1918-1985)

Richard C. Maguire was a charter member of the Rock Island Arsenal Historical Society when it was founded in 1972. He served in many capacities as elected officer and volunteer. In 1974 he was elected President and served for eleven years until his death in 1985.

Richard constantly sought items of the Arsenal's historical past, saving many from the dump truck or obscure dusty corners.

It was through his efforts that the first items for a sale counter were obtained. The "gift shop" consisted of only a desktop display with lapel pins, books and lead soldiers, but within a few years it grew into a full size shop with hundreds of items. The small arms open storage display at the museum is dedicated to his memory.

Richard was an Armament Engineer for the US Government for 38 years. He helped design tank cupolas, turrets and gun mounts, crew served weapons and the M16 rifle. He worked at the Detroit Tank Arsenal, Rodman Lab, Industrial Based Engineering Agency (IBEA) and on the main battle tank project.

His sport and hobby was competitive pistol and rifle shooting. He held state records and won many medals at state, regional and national levels. He met his wife, Mary, at the national championships. In 1963, when he was transferred to the Rock Island Arsenal from Detroit, he and Mary started the Rock Island Arsenal Marksman junior Rifle Club. By 1976 it was the largest junior rifle club in the United States. They taught gun safety to over 2000 juniors and adults. Dick trained and coached shooters for 22 years until his death.

Richard and Mary had three children: Elizabeth Louck, Kathleen Register, and David Maguire.

After his death on October 11, 1985, Mary sold his small but very special gun collection and donated the money to the Rock Island Arsenal Historical Society to start the scholarship fund named after him. Mary served as the Scholarship Committee Chairman for eleven years, retiring in 1996.

Stephen T. Hershberg Lifetime Achievement Award

The Stephen T. Hershberg Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a member of the Rock Island Arsenal Historical Society for distinguished service and unselfish dedication of time and effort to the advancement and perpetuation of the goals and activities of the organization.

The award is administered and awarded by the Board of Directors.

Stephen T. Hershberg (1942-1995)

Stephen T. Hershberg served as President of the Rock Island Arsenal Historical Society from 1988 until 1995. Steve was a contracts negotiator with the Ammunition Procurement Directorate of the Industrial Operations Command at Rock Island Arsenal.

He was a graduate of Cornell University School of Engineering in New York City. A child prodigy, he graduated from Mannes College of Music in New York City with a master’s degree in piano and with the hopes of becoming a concert pianist.

He was drafted into the Army, and served as a Captain from 1967 to 1979. He had two tours of duty in Vietnam. He received the Vietnam Cross of Gallantry with Palm and the Bronze Star. He later served with the Army Reserves, and attained the rank of Lieutenant Colonel.

Steve was responsible for creating the permanent historical museum at the Watervliet Arsenal, Watervliet, New York, when he was stationed at that installation.

Past Award Winners

Recipient Date Presented

Richard L. Maynard

June 6, 1996

James K. Larson

September 5, 1996

Jerry W. Bates

June 4, 1998

Richard C. Hochstetler

November 4, 1999

Gerald W. Geiger

September 6, 2001

Mae C. Schatteman

September 6, 2001

Kris Leinicke

January 9, 2003

Arlis Enburg

June 5, 2003

Eva E. Hammond

April 3, 2008

W. David Maehr

February 5, 2009

James L. Jochum

October 2, 2014